Driving Under the Influence of Intoxication in Oregon

After she crashed into a motorcyclist early Sunday morning in Clackamas County, Oregon resident Kerrie Farr was arrested on a charge of Driving Under the Influence of Intoxication (DUII). Farr, 52, reportedly had a blood alcohol content of 1.6, which, according to the website of criminal defense attorney Ian Inglis, is 20 times the legal limit. Though Farr was uninjured, the motorcyclist, Timothy Zimmerman, sustained leg injuries and had to be taken to a nearby hospital after the accident. Oftentimes, impaired drivers hurt innocent people and have to live with these consequences.

Farr faces a number of potential severe consequences, including several years of probation, a fine of $1,000-$2,000, and a license suspension of up to one year. Oregon’s DUII laws are harsh in an attempt to lessen the number of alcohol-related crashes that occur each year—those crashes amounted to nearly 35 percent of Oregon traffic deaths in 2011. Although that number is similar to the national average, government officials say it is still far too high.

Oregon, like many other states, has an implied consent law that forces drivers to submit to a urine, breath or blood test if a police officer requests one; refusal results in an immediate license suspension for one to three years. If a driver is convicted of a DUII, the penalties do not stop at fines and license suspension—individuals with a DUII charge must attend weekly sessions about alcohol and drug education, and submit random urine samples during the first several weeks of the DUII Information Program.

After identifying Farr as the party responsible for the crash and arresting her for DUII, officers took her to the Clackamas County jail. In light of the crash, the local Sheriff’s Office called for Oregon residents to be increasingly vigilant in an effort to cut down on drunken driving cases. Everyone should be wary of drunk drivers and should go out of their way to avoid being one.


Related Posts

Share This